Gallery1:Users and Permissions - Gallery Codex
Personal tools

Gallery1:Users and Permissions

From Gallery Codex

Users and Permissions

Since some of the early releases of Gallery, Gallery has supported multiple users. This allows administrators to give individual and separate users different permissions, based on the administrator's wishes. Admins can give each user his or her own album, or allow certain users to perform certain operations on a certain set of albums.

Managing users in Gallery is extremely simple. When you are logged in as an administrator, simply click "[manage users]" on the main Gallery screen. Here you can add new users, edit existing users, and delete users.

Once you have created some users, you can give the users permissions. If you'd like to give a certain user a certain permission on an album, simply click on "[permissions]" by an album (if it's a top level album), navigate into the album and click "[permissions]" (sub-album or top level album), or select "Permissions" from the drop down box underneath an album (sub-album only). This will bring up a permissions dialog, which you can give certain users permissions for the album. Note

Gallery's permissions are not inherited. This means that a parent album's permissions are not taken into account when Gallery decides whether a user has access to an album. This is different, for instance, than the Unix permission system, which is inherited.

  • Album Owner -- The album owner has all the permissions an administrator has for that album. The album owner can add and edit everything about the album, as well as edit the permissions for the album.
  • Users who can see the album -- Self-explanatory. Anyone in this box can see the album and navigate through it.
  • Users who can change album text -- Users who can change captions under images, the album description, the album title, and an item's custom fields.
  • Users who can add photos -- Self-explanatory. Anyone in this box can add photos to the album.
  • Users who can modify photos -- Users who can move the album (i.e. position), rename the album, reset the album's click counter, edit thumbnails, rotate/flip photos, change the album highlight, move photos (i.e. position), and hide photos.
  • Users who can delete photos -- Self-explanatory. Anyone in this box can delete photos.
  • Users who can create sub albums -- Self-explanatory. Anyone in this box can create sub albums within the album.
  • Users who can view full (original) images -- Anyone in this box can view the full image (not the resized image. Anyone who can see the album [see above] can see the thumbnail and resized version of the image).
  • Users who can add comments -- Self-explanatory. Anyone in this box can add comments to gallery.
  • Users who can view comments -- Self-explanatory. Anyone is this box can view comments made by other users. This includes the ability to search for images by comments.

Also included in the Gallery permissions system, there are 3 pseudo-users that represent groups of users.

  • EVERYBODY -- Represent every user, logged in or not
  • LOGGEDIN -- Represents every logged in user
  • NOBODY -- Excludes all users, logged in or not

Note! Even if certain permissions are set to NOBODY, administrators and album owners will still have access to these functions

advertisements